Hats for Winter and Summer

Okay, I know it’s been a hot minute since I’ve updated this, but I’m back and settled into my new condo now, so I’m ready to get back into some of my other routines- updating blogs, exercising, normal sleeping hours, etc.  I didn’t think it would take months for me to settle back in, but it kind of has.  It’s not like I lived abroad for 10 years or anything, but I guess some people adjust more easily than others.

Anyway, recently with all of the black friday sale ads out there, I’ve noticed that some stores are advertising their winter gear, specifically, cute animal hats.  Koreans love their hats, and I’m not just talking about the kids.  Women, men, babies, dogs, and even pop stars.  Here’s the singing group 2NE1 sporting some animal hats:

 

And because my new little cousin is so cute, I’ll post a recent pic of him wearing a cute hat:

I just realized that alphabet blanket he has is full of English letters, not Korean characters!

Anyway, out of all the fun hats, the most intriguing is the ajumma visor.  (Ajumma is the term for a married woman.  Just because you’re married doesn’t mean you’re automatically an ajumma though.  Usually this term is meant for a middle aged woman but it’s really much more than that.  I could talk about the ajumma perm, attitude, clothing style, etc- but that’s for another blog post.)

All ajummas (like most Korean women) are very paranoid about getting tan.  They want to be as pale as possible and always take precautions to shield themselves against the sun, to avoid wrinkles.  When I was in Korea, in the summer I would often see young people with hats, some with parasols (yep, I broke down and bought a super lacy one, which I’ll probably never use in the U.S. because people will make fun of me), and then there are the ajummas with their visors.  These shield some hardcore rays, as you can see below:

 

They also come in slightly varying styles:

If you’re lucky, you’ll get to see a rare sight, that I only spotted twice in Korea.  It’s a combo of the visor above with one of these:

Sadly, I can’t find any photos I can steal off the internet, but when you spot one of these power walking ajummas wearing the visor and mask combo, you’ll know that they probably have some  amazing wrinkle free skin!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 02:17:00

  2. Trackback: More observations about what has changed in South Korean culture . . . | jasonryanteacher.com

Leave a Reply

